Saudi Space Apps Challenge

Oct 18-20, 2018

Jeddah

Jeddah

Riyadh

Riyadh

Jubail

Jubail

Dammam

Dammam

Tabuk

Tabuk

Madinah

Madinah

Makkah

Makkah

What is it about?

Saudi Space Apps Challenge is a two-day hackathon where teams of technologists, scientists, designers, artists, educators, entrepreneurs, developers and students across the globe collaborate and engage with publicly available data to design innovative solutions for global challenges.

The event embraces collaborative problem solving with a goal of producing relevant open-source solutions to advance space exploration missions and improve life on earth.

Hackathon?

Hackathons are technology development marathons that draw on the talents and initiative of bright-minded volunteers, developers, engineers, technologists, designers and anyone with a passion and desire to have an immediate impact on the world.

They are open to anyone who has a passion for making a difference, and focused on developing real solutions to global challenges.

This hackathon is part of a larger process of defining challenges relevant to earth and space, intensively working to prototype solutions over the course of the Oct 18-20, 2018 weekend, and subsequently refining and implementing the most promising prototypes.

NASA is leading this global collaboration along with a number of additional government collaborators and local partner organizations. This year it will run in more than 125 locations throughout the globe, Saudi will take part of it for the Second time this year.

The World Needs Your Ideas

Space Apps is an annual event that pulls citizens together regardless of their background or skill level. Do not let the name fool you... it is not just about apps! Tackle a challenge using robotics, data visualization, hardware, design and many other specialties! Inspire each other while you learn and create using stories, code, design and, most of all, YOUR ideas. Show us your problem-solving skills and you may be a Space Apps award winner or featured on Open NASA!

Code

Code

Design

Design

Ideas

Ideas

Words

Words

Where in Saudi?

Jeddah Location

Jeddah

Location Map
Riyadh Location

Riyadh

Location Map
Dammam Location

Dammam

Location Map
Jubail Location

Jubail

Location Map
Makkah Location

Makkah

Location Map
Tabuk Location

Tabuk

Location Map
Madinah Location

Madinah

Location Map

Space Apps 2018
Challenge Categories

Space Apps participants will create solutions to mission-related challenges broken into six categories: CAN YOU BUILD A..., HELP OTHERS DISCOVER THE EARTH, VOLCANOES, ICEBERGS, AND ASTEROIDS (OH MY), WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS..., AN ICY GLARE, A UNIVERSE OF BEAUTY AND WONDER.

CAN YOU BUILD A...

CAN YOU BUILD A...

People build things to support life on Earth, and to explore Space! We build buildings, airplanes, cars and rockets, computers, satellites, habitats, and a dizzying host of other things. If someone can think of it, or if someone needs it, then someone can probably build it - whether today or in the future. Challenges in this category will ask you to use NASA’s data to creatively solve problems and show how you would create a variety of things, from buildings, to robotic helpers, to tools for citizen science – the possibilities are endless!

HELP OTHERS DISCOVER THE EARTH

HELP OTHERS DISCOVER THE EARTH

Understanding the field of science is central to living on Earth. For example: How does water move? How does our atmosphere work? Why are ice and snow important? And honestly, what is dirt? The Earth is composed of complicated systems - land, water, air, living things, and the planet itself - and understanding something about these systems is useful. Challenges in this category will ask you to craft something using NASA data – a story, a game, a video, or some other solution – that helps people discover how the Earth works.

VOLCANOES, ICEBERGS, AND ASTEROIDS (OH MY)

VOLCANOES, ICEBERGS, AND ASTEROIDS (OH MY)

Our planet and solar system are full of surprises – good ones, and tough ones. The good ones are the ones we see as helping us, such as when a long-awaited rainstorm refills a lake or reservoir. We call the tough ones “disasters” – such as when that same rainstorm causes a damaging flood. What such events all have in common is that 1) they affect us; and 2) we would like to know ahead of time when they are coming, if we possibly can, so that we can prepare. Challenges in this category will ask you to analyze NASA data to help anticipate, monitor, and recover from (or make best use of!) surprise events.

WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS...

WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS...

Earth-dwellers need many things: food, water, clean air, shelter, and other things too – the list is long and diverse. What are those things? What does it take to sustain and improve life on Earth for all of its inhabitants? And what will it take, eventually, to do that on other planets? Challenges in this category will ask you to tackle problems affecting some important aspect of life in this world (or on others!), and to interpret NASA data and concepts creatively to help find solutions.

AN ICY GLARE

AN ICY GLARE

Green, blue, grey, and white: there’s a lot going on at Earth’s poles, and in the high mountain regions where it is cold. These parts of the world are important; what happens there affects not only the poles and high places and their inhabitants, but the whole planet. From ice sheets and glaciers, to ice caps, frozen ground, and oceans, Earth’s cold places are dynamic. This challenge category will ask you to use NASA data to better understand, monitor and interpret Earth’s cryosphere. (Oh, and just one more thing: there are other planets with cryospheres, too! )

A UNIVERSE OF BEAUTY AND WONDER

A UNIVERSE OF BEAUTY AND WONDER

Sometimes it is hard to take it all in: Space is filled with amazing things. Studying the stars, galaxies, and planets can tell us so much about the Universe – and looking at the Universe can tell us so much about ourselves. There is room for both study and for appreciation of the sheer beauty of it all, as anyone who has gazed at shooting stars in a night sky can attest. From our vantage points here on Earth, from the International Space Station, and from NASA’s telescopes, satellites, and missions to explore the solar system, we are learning so much – and there is still more to learn and to see. Challenges in this category will invite you to think hard and be creative about space science and exploration, whether your viewpoint is scientific, technologic, artistic – or all three!


Event Schedule

Preparatory day

7:00pm
Registration

8:00pm
Opening

8:30pm
Explaining the rules

8:45pm
Team building

9:30pm
End of the preparatory day

Competition First Day

8:30am
Registration

9:00am
Start the competation

1:00pm
Break

2:00pm
Continuation

11:30pm
End of the first day

Competition Second and Last Day

9:00am
Continuation

1:00pm
Projects Delivery

1:00pm
Break

2:30pm
Judging

7:00pm
Announcing winners

Space Apps 2018
Challenge Categories

Space Apps participants will create solutions to mission-related challenges broken into six categories: Aeronautics, International Space Station, Solar System & Beyond, Technology, Earth and the Journey to Mars.

Aeronautics

Aeronautics

Space Station

Space Station

Solar System

Solar System

Technology

Technology

Earth

Earth

Journey to Mars

Journey to Mars

Participate

Participate

Everyone can participate. Programmers, developers, engineers, technologists, designers and anyone with a passion and desire to have an immediate impact on the world. You can choose any challenge that captures your imagination and uses your skills. Teams will created from participants interested in working on particular projects.

Register

Register

Each participant is required to register on Saudi's page on the international website in order to be eligible to participate and hack on a project over the course of the weekend.

Solutions

Solutions

Participants will collaborate to build software, hardware, data visualization and any other solutions. All solutions must submitted under an open source license that permits the free and open dissemination of the work. NASA and the other supporting organizations DO NOT own the rights to nor are committed to utilize any solution developed during the event.

Frequently Asked Questions

Organizer

Geeks Valley



Strategic Partners

جامعة عفت
نماء المنورة
الهيئة الملكية للجبيل وينبع
جامعة تبوك
الشركة السعودية للكهرباء

Saudi Space Apps Challenge

18-20 اكتوبر 2018

جدة

جدة

الرياض

الرياض

الجبيل

الجبيل

الدمام

الدمام

تبوك

تبوك

المدينة المنورة

المدينة

مكة المكرمة

مكة

ما هو الموضوع؟

تحدي Space Apps السعودية هو هاكاثون من يومين حيث تقوم فرق التقنيين، العلماء، المصممين، الفنانين، المعلمين، رواد الأعمال، المطورين والطلاب حول العالم بالتعاون والمشاركة مع البيانات المتاحة للعامة لتصميم حلول مبتكرة للتحديات العالمية.

الفعالية تحتضن التعاون في حل المشاكل مع هدف إنتاج حلول مفتوحة-المصدر ذات صلة للمضي قدماً في مهمات استكشاف الفضاء وتحسين الحياة على الأرض.

هاكاثون؟

الهاكاثونات هي ماراثونات تطوير تقني تعتمد على المواهب ومبادرات مشرقي التفكير من المتطوعين، المطورين، المهندسين، التقنيين، المصممين وأي أحد لديه شغف وشجاعة لإيجاد تأثير فوري في العالم.

هي مفتوحة لأي أحد لديه شغف لإحداث فرق وتركّز على تطوير حلول حقيقية للتحديات العالمية.

هذا الهاكاثون هو جزء من عملية كبيرة لتعريف التحديات ذات الصلة بالأرض والفضاء، عمل مكثّف لإخراج حلول مبدئية على مدار نهاية الأسبوع 18-20 أكتوبر 2018، وبعد ذلك تنقية وتحقيق أفضل النماذج الواعدة.

NASA تقود هذا التعاون العالمي على مقربة مع عدد من المتعاونين الحكوميين الإضافيين ومنظمات محلية شريكة. هذه السنة يقام بأكثر من 125 موقع في كل مكان بالعالم، السعودية ستأخذ نصيبها من ذلك للمرة الثانية على التوالي.

العالم يحتاج أفكارك

Space Apps هو حدث سنوي يجذب المواطنين سوياً بغض النظر عن خلفيتهم أو مستوى مهارتهم. لا تدع الاسم يخدعك... إنه ليس فقط عن التطبيقات! معالجة مشكلة وتحدي باستخدام الروبوتات، تصوّر البيانات، المعدات، التصميم والعديد من التخصصات! ألهم الآخرين بينما تتعلم وتنشئ باستخدام القصص، البرمجة، التصميم و، أكثر من ذلك، أفكارك. اعرض لنا مهارات حلك-للمشاكل وقد تكون فائز بجائزة Space Apps أو يتم تمييزك في Open NASA!

البرمجة

البرمجة

التصميم

التصميم

الأفكار

الأفكار

الكلمات

الكلمات

أين بالسعودية؟

Space Apps 2018
أقسام التحدي

المشاركون في Space Apps سيبتدعوا حلول لتحديات ذات صلة بمهمات منقسمة لستة أقسام: هل بإستطاعتك بناء... ، مساعدة الاخرين على إكتشاف الارض... ، البراكين, الجبال الجليدية, والأجرام السماوية... ، ما يحتاجه العالم الان هو... ، الوهج الجليدي... ، عالم من الجمال والتساؤلات...

هل بإستطاعتك بناء

هل بإستطاعتك بناء...

يقوم الناس ببناء الاشياء لدعم الحياة على الارض, ولإستكشاف الفضاء نحن نقوم ببناء المباني والطائرات والسيارات والصواريخ وأجهزة الكومبيوتر والأقمار الصناعية والمواطن, والعديد من الأشياء المذهلة. اذا كان هناك شخص بمقدورة التفكير بشيء ما,

أو شخص اخر بحاجة الى شيء معين. ف على الأرجح هناك شخص اخر بمقدورة بناء هذا الشيء- سواء في الحاضر أم المستقبل. في هذه الفئة التحديات ستطالبك بإستخدام بيانات ناسا لحل المشكلات بطرق إبداعية,

و إظهار كيف ستتمكن من إنشاء العديد من الاشياء المتنوعة, بداً من المباني, مساعدين اَليين, وصولاً الى علم المواطن. الاحتمالات لا حصر لها.

مساعدة الاخرين على إكتشاف الارض

مساعدة الاخرين على إكتشاف الارض...

يعد فهم مجال العلوم أمرًا أساسيًا للعيش على الأرض. على سبيل المثال: كيف يتحرك الماء؟ كيف يعمل غلافنا الجوي؟ لماذا الجليد والثلوج أمر مهم؟ وبصراحة، ما هو التراب؟ تتكون الأرض من أنظمة معقدة - الأرض والماء والهواء والأشياء الحية، والكوكب نفسه - وفهم شيء ما عن هذه الأنظمة يعد مفيدًا. ستطالبك التحديات في هذه الفئة بصياغة شيء باستخدام بيانات وكالة ناسا - وهي قصة أو لعبة أو فيديو أو أي حل آخر - تساعد الأشخاص على اكتشاف كيفية عمل الارض.

البراكين, الجبال الجليدية, والأجرام السماوية

البراكين, الجبال الجليدية, والأجرام السماوية...

كوكبنا والنظام الشمسي لدينا مليئان بالمفاجآت – منها الجيد، والأخرى قاسية. الجيدون هم الذين نراهم كمساعدون لنا، كما هو الحال عندما تقوم عاصفة مطيرة طال انتظارها بإعادة ملء البحيرة أو الخزان. أما بالنسبة للقاسية منها فنحن نطلق عليها "الكوارث" - مثلما يحدث عندما تتسبب نفس العواصف الممطرة في فيضان مدمر. تشترك هذه الاحداث في أمور وهي 1) أنها تؤثر علينا. و 2) نود أن نعرف في وقت مبكر عندما يأتون، إذا أمكن ذلك، حتى نتمكن من الاستعداد. ستطالبك التحديات في هذه الفئة بتحليل بيانات وكالة ناسا للمساعدة في توقع الأحداث المفاجئة (أو استخدامها بشكل أفضل!)

ما يحتاجه العالم الان هو

ما يحتاجه العالم الان هو...

يحتاج سكان الأرض إلى العديد من الأشياء: الطعام، والماء، والهواء النقي، والمأوى، وغيرها من الأشياء أيضًا - القائمة طويلة ومتنوعة. ما هذه الأشياء الاخرى التي نحتاجها؟ ما الذي يتطلبه الامر للحفاظ على الحياة على هذه الأرض وتحسينها لجميع سكانها؟ وكم سيستغرق الامر للقيام بذلك على كواكب أخرى؟ ستطالبك التحديات في هذه الفئة بمعالجة المشكلات التي تؤثر على بعض جوانب الحياة الهامة في هذا العالم (أو على الآخرين!)، ولتفسير بيانات ومفاهيم وكالة ناسا بشكل خلاق للمساعدة في إيجاد الحلول.

الوهج الجليدي

الوهج الجليدي...

الأخضر والأزرق والرمادي والأبيض: هناك الكثير يحدث في أقطاب الأرض، وفي المناطق الجبلية المرتفعة حيث يكون الطقس باردًا. هذه الأجزاء من العالم مهمة؛ ما يحدث هناك يؤثر ليس فقط على القطبين والأماكن المرتفعة وسكانها، ولكن على الكوكب بأسره. من الملاءات الجليدية والأنهار الجليدية، إلى القمم الجليدية، والأراضي المتجمدة، والمحيطات، تعتبر الاماكن الباردة في الأرض ديناميكية. ستطلب منك فئة التحدي هذه استخدام بيانات ناسا لفهم الغلاف الجليدي للأرض ورصده وتفسيره بشكل أفضل. (أوه ، وفقط شيئًا آخر: هناك كواكب أخرى جليدية ، أيضًا!)

عالم من الجمال والتساؤلات

عالم من الجمال والتساؤلات...

في بعض الأحيان يكون من الصعب استيعاب كل شيء: الفضاء مليء بالأشياء المدهشة. إن دراسة النجوم والمجرات والكواكب يمكن أن تخبرنا بالكثير عن الكون - ويمكن أن يخبرنا النظر إلى الكون الكثير عن أنفسنا. هناك مجال للدراسة وتقدير الجمال المطلق لكل شيء، كما يمكن لأي شخص سبق له التحديق في الشهب أن يشهد بذلك. من نقاط رؤيتنا هنا على الأرض، ومن محطة الفضاء الدولية، ومن تلسكوبات ناسا، والأقمار الصناعية، والبعثات لاستكشاف النظام الشمسي، فإننا نتعلم الكثير - ولا يزال هناك المزيد للتعلم والرؤية. ستدعوك التحديات في هذه الفئة للتفكير بجد وإبداع في علوم الفضاء والاستكشاف، سواء كانت وجهة نظرك علمية أو تكنولوجية أو فنية - أو الثلاثة معا!


جدول الفعالية

اليوم التحضيري

7:00م
تسجيل الحضور

8:00م
افتتاح المسابقة

8:30م
شرح شروط وتعليمات المسابقة

8:45م
توزيع المجموعات

9:30م
نهاية اليوم التحضيري

اليوم الأول للمسابقة

8:30ص
تسجيل الحضور

9:00ص
بدء التحديات

1:00م
استراحة

2:00م
استمرار التحدي

11:30م
نهاية اليوم الأول

اليوم الثاني والأخير للمسابقة

9:00ص
استمرار التحديات

1:00م
موعد تسليم المشاريع

1:00م
استراحة

2:30م
بدء عرض المشاريع على الحكام

7:00م
حفل الختام وإعلان الفائزين

المشاركة

المشاركة

الجميع يستطيع المشاركة. المبرمجين، المطورين، المهندسين، التقنيين، المصممين وأي أحد لديه شغف وشجاعة ليحدث تأثير فوري في العالم. تستطيع اختيار أي تحدي يأسر خيالك ويستغل مهاراتك. الفرق ستقسّم من قبل المشاركين المهتمين في العمل على مشاريع موحدة.

التسجيل

التسجيل

كل مشارك يتطلب عليه التسجيل في الصفحة السعودية على الموقع العالمي لكي يكون مؤهلاً للمشاركة والعمل بمشروع على مدار الأسبوع.

الحلول

الحلول

المشاركون سيتعاونون لبناء برنامج، أداة أو جهاز، تصوّر بيانات أو أي حلول أخرى. كل الحلول يجب أن ترسل تحت رخصة مفتوحة المصدر تصرح النشر المجاني والمفتوح من العمل. NASA والمنظمات الأخرى الداعمة لا يملكون الحقوق أو الالتزامات لاستخدام أي حلول طورت أثناء الفعالية.

الأسئلة المكررة

المنظم

Geeks Valley



الشركاء الاستراتيجيون

جامعة عفت
نماء المنورة
الهيئة الملكية للجبيل وينبع
جامعة تبوك
الشركة السعودية للكهرباء